To Celebrate My Body

To Celebrate My Body

where
you had only
to touch me
other had
to present a history
a bibliography,
a justification but no question
remains,
that a gift
easily given
lightly received
is wasted no one can
touch me
the way
you can/ I should say
did but no question
remains
your touch
was not lightly
taken and
my body
has spent
a lot of years
awakening too long
in fact
to stop
the process your touch
is
somewhere
across the ocean. My imagination
has never
been poor; but
cannot extend
to a life
where touching
comes only
in a letter Celebrate
the word.
we
are both
poets;
taking the world
ultimately
seriously but the word
can only
give life
if it acknowledges
the lips
the mouth that made it the body
that pumped the
sounding air where
you had only
to touch me
others had
to present a history
a bibliography,
a justification the touch
comes first
remains
is the last thing you
remember
after you
turn
out
the light
at night.

– Diane Wakoski

 

3 thoughts on “To Celebrate My Body

  1. “My imagination
    has never
    been poor; but
    cannot extend
    to a life
    where touching
    comes only
    in a letter ” — Nice way to say this.

Leave a Reply

