excerpt from Go Airplane, Sway Tree

excerpt from Go Airplane, Sway Tree

Who needs a map of the friction
when the lightning looks like a plan?
Who needs to know why the airplanes go
or the trees sway? I want to know why
the weather changed when the door killed
the cricket. I want to know why it’s peeping
that floods the air when we are waiting.
I want to know why I’m not whispering this
in your ear. Why it is that you can’t hear me.

– Emily Pettit, excerpt from Go Airplane, Sway Tree

Leave a Reply

