On Time For Once

On Time For Once

I was sitting thinking of our future
And of how friendship had overcome
So many nights bloated with pain;

I was sitting in a room that looked out on to a garden
And a stillness filled me,
Bitterness drifted from me,

I was as near paradise as I am likely to get again.

I was sitting thinking of the chaos
We had caused in one another
And was amazed we had survived it.

I was thinking of our future
And of what we would do together,
And where we would go and of how,

When night came, burying me bit by bit,
And you entered the room,
Trembling, solemn-faced,

On time for once.

– Brian Patten

Leave a Reply

