Letter to the Woman Who Stopped Writing Me Back

Letter to the Woman Who Stopped Writing Me Back

I remember your collarbone, forming the tiniest
satellite dish in the universe, your smile
as the place where parallel lines inevitably crossed.

I remember your eyes: fifty attack dogs on a single leash,
how I once held the soft audience of your hand.

I’ve been ignored by prettier women than you,
but none who carried the heavy pitchers of silence
so far, without spilling a drop.

– Jeffrey McDaniel

3 thoughts on “Letter to the Woman Who Stopped Writing Me Back

  1. I don’t know which is lovelier: “I once held the soft audience of your hand” or “. . .but none who carried the heavy pitchers of silence.”

    I wish I could write poetry like that.

  2. Reblogged this on Here Are Things You Can Read and commented:
    For National Poetry Month, aka April, I’ve decided to uh, not only post some of my own work everyday, but also at least one other piece by another writer, other than myself, obviously.

    Here is a little thing by Jeffrey McDaniel. I enjoyed it quite a bit.

Leave a Reply

