I Will Love You Like The World Is Ending

One day I won’t be here anymore.
One rainy day you won’t find me laying beside you in bed when you wake up.
One day there will be no kissing in the morning
or coffee and cigarettes while waiting for the day to start.
There will be no more holding hands or texts starting with fire and ending with love.

One day I won’t be here anymore,
so maybe you can care about us now?
Maybe you can shelter us and treat this as if it won’t last
and as if each morning is the last morning,
and each kiss is the last kiss,
because I fear you’re taking this for granted,
and I know there are so many other great things you’ve had,
and I know I might not be that special,
but you’re by far the greatest thing I’ve ever had.

Soon enough I won’t be kissing you awake,
Because I feel this is the beginning of my end, darling,
I’m hurting in quite a lot of ways,
and as you know I never learned to stay
so I need to tell you, love,
that one day I won’t be here anymore.
And maybe then you can miss me a little bit?
Because I will be missing you for the rest of my days,
I even miss you when I’m with you because I know that it won’t last,
and it’s quite a heavy burden,
a heavy burden for my shrinking body to have.

So for now,
I will miss you like I’ll never see you again,
And the next time I see you,
I will kiss you like I’ll never kiss you again,
And when I fall asleep beside you
I will fall asleep as if I’ll never wake up again,
because I don’t know if I will.
I don’t know if I will.

I will love you like the world is ending,
because I fear it is.
I will love you like my faith is calling,
because I fear it is.
I fear it is.
I fear it is.

– Your Tragedy

– Charlotte Eriksson

Leave a Reply

