from “The End of The Affair”

from “The End of The Affair”

When she left the house I couldn’t settle to work: I would reconstruct what we had said to each other: I would fan myself into anger or remorse. And all the time I knew I was forcing the pace. I was pushing, pushing the only thing I loved out of my life. As long as I could make-believe that love lasted, I was happy – I think I was even good to live with, and so love did last. But if love had to die, I wanted it to die quickly. It was as though our love were a small creature caught in a trap bleeding to death: I had to shut my eyes and wring its neck.

– Graham Greene

Submitted by reader, Alyssa. Thank you, darling. Stunning.

Leave a Reply

