The Lightbulb Conspiracy

The Lightbulb Conspiracy

we were astronauts and
beekeepers;
archaeologists and mechanics;
overseas teachers
getting drunk off communion wine
in a theocratic country with no believers.
I was the blowhole in a whale and
the trash heap at sea
I was a groundbreaking invention
hidden under planned obsolescence
you were the vitamin C I took daily and the cold I caught anyway
you were a ferris wheel showing a child the world at the top
we were
forks coming off of screaming rivers and
diving into sidewalks holding handprints that weren’t ours
throwing rotten eggs into ditches because what else would we do with them and
what else was there to do?
I filled a cracked bucket with jell-o and left it on your porch because
I knew you’d know what I meant
you painted a face around the hole I punched through the wall because
you knew I’d send a picture to my mom
we recited mournful monologues on the bruises in our bananas
we played pianos with our toes
we pinched the sun between our fingers
we were lost. we weren’t alone.

-Alexis Diano Sikorski

One thought on “The Lightbulb Conspiracy

Leave a Reply

